I learned… I lost

Antes de voltar para casa, a Janet perguntou qual seriam as três coisas que eu aprendi durante o ano e que eu considerasse o mais importante para o meu crescimento. Assim foi:

Before coming back to Brazil, a friend (Janet) asked what would be the top three things that I learned during the year that were very important for me. Here they are:

1) Aprendi a me calar quando a minha opinião não é necessária. Antes eu falava mesmo que ninguém quisesse ouvir. Hoje eu espero, vejo a situação e só depois falo alguma coisa. Normalmente, só depois de alguém mostrar que está interessado ou que eu vejo que está indo tudo por água abaixo mesmo.

1) I learned to give my opinion only when necessary. Before this trip I used to speak whatever I wanted, even though no one wanted to hear what I had to say. Nowadays I wait, analyze the situation and only after that I say something.

2) Aprendi a planejar menos. Antes eu era totalmente paranóica com isso, precisava seguir uma rotina e saber tudo o que iria acontecer durante a semana ou o mês, só o dia não bastava. Hoje eu sei mensurar o que realmente precisa de planejamento e o que não precisa. Ainda controlo certinho coisas importantes como prazo para entregar trabalho na faculdade, por exemplo, mas já deixei de lado planejar o que eu vou comer (coisa inútil).

2) I learned how to plan less. Before the trip I was very strict with this, I needed to have my routine and to know everything that was going to happen in a week or in a month. To be aware of what was going to happen in one day was not enough for me. Nowadays I know how to measure what really needs planning or what doesn’t. I still control important things such as deadlines at school, but I gave up planning what I want to eat, for example.

3) Aprendi a deixar as coisas acontecerem sem me estressar muito. Antes eu ficava super triste/mal quando planejava algo que não dava certo. Hoje eu penso que, se não deu certo, é porque era para ser assim. O caso será corrigir o erro e não ficar se remoendo e se sentindo culpada.

3) I learned how to go with the flow and let things happen without getting too stressed with it. Before this trip I used to be very mad when something didn’t follow my plan. Nowadays I just think that if it didn’t work, it’s because it wasn’t supposed to work. I try to correct the mistake instead of feeling guilty.

Esses itens fizeram uma diferença enorme na forma com que eu encaro a minha vida, já senti os resultados disso. Então não vejo nada de ruim em ter aprendido todas essas coisas. Só que durante as duas semanas em que já estou aqui, eu percebi que perdi umas coisas que não gostaria de ter perdido. Exemplo:

These three new “skills” made a huge difference in the way I face my life, I felt the results already. I don’t see anything wrong with that, the only problem is that I also lost some stuff that I didn’t want to. For example:

1) Minha criatividade. Como o humor americano não é o mesmo do brasileiro, é óbvio que as piadinhas não serão as mesmas. Se você não tem capacidade para visualizar coisas diferentes/engraçadas em situações comuns do dia-a-dia, eu acho que a pessoa perde muito o nível de criatividade que tem. Foi o que aconteceu comigo. Percebi que isso mudou em mim a partir das minhas conversas com amigos. Penso coisas que não são da conversa ou que poderiam ser melhoradas, mas sei que não tenho mais a capacidade criativa que tinha antes. E isso é péssimo!

1) My creativity. The sense of humor between Brazilians and Americans are totally different. The jokes are not the same and even the situations are not the same. Before the trip I was able to see and imagine different things in day-to-day situations in Brazil. I believe that when you imagine something beyond the surface, that helps you improve your creativity. When I stopped doing it in the USA, my creative sense decreased ridiculously. I realized that when I was talking to some friends during these past two weeks. I don’t see these “common” situations as I used to and this is really awful!

2) Meu português. Cada coisa feia que eu falo por ser tradução direta do inglês não tá escrito! Às vezes traduzo, às vezes enrolo com inglês, às vezes esqueço a palavra e só lembro da descrição, muito chato isso. Ainda mais com essas regras novas da língua, vou ter mais problemas ainda para aprender e voltar a falar como antes.

2) My Portuguese. Sometimes I say in Portuguese something that has no sense, just because I translate directly from English without realizing it, which is super awful. Sometimes I don’t remember a word in Portuguese, just in English, for example. Last year there were some changes in our Portuguese so I will double suffer to learn these new rules!

3) Meu tempo brasileiro. Eu nunca fui de chegar atrasada em lugares ou ter aquela coisa de jeitinho brasileiro quando o assunto é horário, mas agora está demais! Lá nos EUA era tudo pontual, né, me acostumei com isso. O bom é que eu não fico p da vida quando alguém se atrasa por aqui porque aprendi a entender isso também, mas vai ser difícil alguém falar para eu chegar em uma festa às 19h e eu chegar as 19h40.

3) My “Brazilian time”. Brazilians love being late for some events, such as parties. Because things in the USA were very punctual, I learned how to be more punctual than I were before. This is not good in Brazil for some situations. The good thing is that I learned how to not be mad at people when they are late 🙂

O lado ótimo desses três últimos pontos é que tudo é reversível. Preciso ler mais em português e ter mais contato com a língua para voltar ao meu português original. Preciso pensar mais criativamente nas coisas comuns, que daí as mais difíceis serão fáceis. Preciso saber quando é hora de chegar pontualmente em algum lugar e quando não é (Aposto que se eu chegar às 19h em uma festa, o povo vai pensar que eu sou estranha! :-P)

The great point in these three items is that I can change them all. I need to read more in Portuguese and to have more contact with my own language so that I can return to my original Portuguese. I need to think more creatively while doing day-to-day stuff, then the most difficult creative things will not be so hard to do. I need to realize when it’s time to be punctual in Brazil and when it’s not so polite to do that 😛

Então, bola para frente para manter o que eu aprendi e corrigir o que eu perdi. A vida continua!

So, I just need to keep up with what I learned and correct what I lost. Life goes on!

5 Comentários (+adicionar seu?)

  1. Macarena
    jul 31, 2010 @ 18:36:52

    How awesome that you have done this reflection Nicole. And I am so glad that you have decided not to take life so seriously. I was (and still am) awed at how mature you are for your age and how organized you are, but I always secretely wished that you would be able to relax a bit so that you would make life a little easier on you. I think I shared this with you alread, but I consider most things in life not so important, things that I am not going to lose any sleep over, but then there are a few things that are very important and I am willing to fight over. That has certainly helped me to relax when things get tough.
    Of course, being the smart person you are, you realized this on your own and can now put it in your bag of “stuff you learned. How neat!! You are right, the things you lost are not big deals either. You are a creative person, so that will come back right away, and your Portuguese, I don’t think it ever left, maybe it just went to a semi-dormant state- but it will be awaken in no time. Thanks for sharing.

    Responder

  2. Georges
    jul 31, 2010 @ 19:06:42

    The good thing about ALL of these has nothing to do with the place you’re from or the place you went to: it’s YOU! You’re flexible, open to experiences, self-reflective, and willing to take the leap of faith necessary to immerse yourself in whatever culture (you could have gone to Jupiter and come out smelling just as good). I wish more American students were less nervous about hurling themselves into the unknown, for it’s only then that true learning begins… learning about others and yourself!

    Responder

  3. Trackback: Experiências + Saudades = Vida? « Experiências + Saudades = Vida?

Deixe um comentário

